What’s the difference between converted mana cost and mana value?

Magic changed the term “converted mana cost” to “mana value” with the release of Strixhaven: School of Mages. Basically, an object’s mana value is the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color, represented as a whole number. For instance, the mana value of Grizzly Bears is 2.

What is the difference between converted mana cost and mana value?

Most importantly, “mana cost” and “converted mana cost” aren’t the same thing. Mana cost is something like 2R, while a card with that mana cost would have a converted mana cost (or “mana value”) of 3.

Do cost reducers change mana value?

118.9c An alternative cost doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost, only what its controller has to pay to cast it. Spells and abilities that ask for that spell’s mana cost still see the original value.

What is a transformed cards mana value?

Do Transformed Cards Have a Mana Value? Yes, a transformed card has the same mana value as the front face. It also has the same mana cost, which is a change from the original rule that came in with the release of Shadows over Innistrad.

What is the converted mana cost of tokens?

Zero. Token creatures do not have a mana cost, they are created from Sorceries/instants resolving or the result of an activated effect or ability. They cannot be returned to your hand or from the graveyard either, when they leave the battlefield they are gone.

Mana Costs Types + Effectiveness in Magic: The Gathering | MTG Rules Guide

Why is it called converted mana cost?

Converted mana cost is a number, mana cost (totaled or not) includes color, alternate ways of payment, special restrictions (snow) etc. It’s called “converted” because you convert it to a plain integer.

What is the new name for converted mana cost?

“Mana value” was originally known as “casting cost” or “total casting cost” prior to Sixth Edition. With the Sixth Edition rules changes, “casting cost” became “converted mana cost” (or “CMC” for short).

Does converted mana cost change?

There is currently no way to change the converted mana cost of an object. In particular, the converted mana cost is not affected by alternative or additional costs, abilities that reduce or set costs, or anything else.

Do tokens have converted mana cost magic?

Generally, tokens have a converted mana cost of 0 because they do not have a mana cost. This makes cards like Displacement Wave and Steel Hellkite (a Commander favorite) incredibly effective against tokens.

What is the rule 712 in Magic The Gathering?

Cards with two faces, one on each side of the card, and no Magic card back. See rule 712, “Double-Faced Cards.” 712.1. A double-faced card has a Magic card face on one side and either a Magic card face or half of an oversized card face on the other.

Does overload count as converted mana cost?

Casting a spell with overload doesn’t change that spell’s converted mana cost. You just pay the overload cost instead. Effects that cause you to pay more or less for a spell will cause you to pay that much more or less while casting it for its overload cost, too.

Can you reduce mana cost to 0?

If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be {0}. It can’t be reduced to less than {0}. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied.

Is magic mana value the same as mana cost?

Magic changed the term “converted mana cost” to “mana value” with the release of Strixhaven: School of Mages. Basically, an object’s mana value is the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color, represented as a whole number. For instance, the mana value of Grizzly Bears is 2.

What does 5 or more mana values mean?

“Five or more mana values among cards in your graveyard” means there are at least five different mana values among those cards. The mana value of a split card in the graveyard is the total mana value of both halves of that card. It does not have two mana values.

Do tokens copy mana values?

As I mentioned, mana values are based on an object’s mana cost. Tokens therefore typically have a mana value of 0, as most of them don’t have mana costs. The exception to this is when you create a token copy of another object. The copy will also copy the mana cost of the original.

Does a copy of a card have a mana cost?

Mana cost is a copiable value, so anything that enters as a copy, becomes a copy, or creates a token that’s a copy of something copies that thing’s mana cost. In your example, Pod’ing a clone-what-is-birds-of-paradise would get you a 2-mana creature card.

Can you overload MTG without paying mana cost?

Overload is an alternative cost, but does not change the total mana value of the spell. Taxing and/or discount effects do affect the alternate cost of a spell. If there is an effect that lets you cast a spell without paying it mana cost, you cannot use that to cast an overloaded spell.

Can you mutate without paying mana cost?

Casting a creature spell for its mutate cost also has a few requirements: You pay the mutate cost rather than the mana cost. A non-Human creature target you own currently on the battlefield.

Do flip cards have a converted mana cost?

709.1c A flip card’s color and mana cost don’t change if the permanent is flipped. Also, any changes to it by external effects will still apply.

Do token copies have CMC?

If the token is created as a copy of something like with rite of replication then it will have the same mana cost and CMC as the original. If the token is just created by a spell or ability like sprout swarm it will have no mana cost so no CMC.

Does kicker change the converted mana cost?

Kicker costs don’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.

What is a generic mana cost?

A generic mana cost is a mana cost that can be paid with mana of any type; meaning mana of any color, as well as colorless mana.

What is the 202.2 rule in Magic The Gathering?

202.2. An object is the color or colors of the mana symbols in its mana cost, regardless of the color of its frame. 202.2a The five colors are white, blue, black, red, and green.

How does mana cost work?

Mana cost is a characteristic found in the upper-right corner of a card. It is exactly the set of symbols printed there, including color. Where a mana cost includes the symbol X, X is equal to the announced or defined value only while the spell or ability is on the stack. Elsewhere, X is zero.

Does kicker count towards mana value?

Does Kicker Increase Mana Value? No, the mana value of a kicked spell is equal to the mana value of the printed card. Although you’ll spend more mana to cast the spell, kicker doesn’t change the card’s mana value.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top