Home » Travel » What is the 7 Wonders of the World names?

What is the 7 Wonders of the World names?


What is the 7 Wonders of the World names?

The 7 Wonders of the World encompass some of the most breathtaking and awe-inspiring architectural and natural marvels found on Earth. These wonders have captivated the imaginations of people across the globe for centuries. The initial list, known as the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, was compiled by the Ancient Greeks and included the Great Pyramid of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Statue of Zeus at Olympia, Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, Colossus of Rhodes, and the Lighthouse of Alexandria. However, only the Great Pyramid of Giza survives today.

What are the New 7 Wonders of the World?

In 2007, a new campaign was initiated to determine the New 7 Wonders of the World. Over 100 million votes were cast, and the final list was unveiled on July 7th, 2007. The New 7 Wonders of the World are as follows:

1. The Great Wall of China: This ancient fortification stretches over 13,000 miles and is a testament to human perseverance and engineering prowess.
2. Petra, Jordan: Carved into the rose-red desert cliffs, Petra is a remarkable ancient city that showcases the ingenuity of the Nabataeans.
3. Christ the Redeemer, Brazil: Standing tall atop the Corcovado Mountain, this iconic statue blesses the city of Rio de Janeiro with its outstretched arms.
4. Machu Picchu, Peru: Hidden amidst the Andes Mountains, this ancient Incan citadel boasts breathtaking views and a rich historical legacy.
5. Chichen Itza, Mexico: This archaeological site is adorned with the stunning Mayan ruins, including the iconic El Castillo pyramid.
6. The Colosseum, Italy: A symbol of Rome’s grandeur and once a venue for ferocious gladiator contests, the Colosseum still fills visitors with awe.
7. Taj Mahal, India: This white marble mausoleum, built by Emperor Shah Jahan, is an exquisite testament to love and architectural beauty.

Why were these Wonders chosen?

The New 7 Wonders of the World were chosen through a global poll organized by the Swiss-based New7Wonders Foundation. The initiative aimed to celebrate the cultural and historical significance of various landmarks while involving the public in the decision-making process. The campaign allowed people from all around the world to vote for their favorite wonders, ensuring a diverse representation of global heritage.

Are there any other lists of wonders?

Yes, apart from the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World and the New 7 Wonders of the World, there are other notable lists that showcase remarkable sites and structures. These lists include:

1. Seven Wonders of the Natural World: This list comprises natural wonders such as the Amazon Rainforest, Halong Bay, Iguazu Falls, Jeju Island, Komodo Island, Puerto Princesa Underground River, and Table Mountain.
2. Seven Wonders of the Medieval World: This list includes historical architectural marvels like Stonehenge, Colosseum, Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa, Great Wall of China, Porcelain Tower of Nanjing, Hagia Sophia, and Leaning Tower of Pisa.
3. New7Wonders Cities: In addition to the New 7 Wonders of the World, this list recognizes exceptional cities worldwide, including Durban, Vigan, Havana, Kuala Lumpur, Beirut, and La Paz, among others.

How can I visit these wonders?

Visiting the wonders of the world is an opportunity to explore different cultures and witness the grandeur of human achievement. Many of these wonders have become popular tourist destinations and can be accessed through various means, such as:

1. Plan your itinerary: Research and plan your trip, taking into account the best time to visit, visa requirements, and transportation options.
2. Join organized tours: Opt for guided tours that provide informative insights and seamless transportation, ensuring a hassle-free experience.
3. Respect cultural heritage: While visiting these wonders, it’s crucial to respect local customs, follow designated routes, and avoid any activities that may cause harm or damage to the sites.
4. Capture memories responsibly: Take photographs and create cherished memories, but do so responsibly, following designated photography guidelines and avoiding any behavior that could disrupt or harm the environment or other visitors.

Can these wonders change in the future?

Indeed, the concept of wonders is subjective, and new initiatives may arise to determine updated lists of wonders in the future. As societies evolve and new structures emerge, it is possible that the definition of wonder may expand to include other monumental achievements.

What is the significance of the 7 Wonders of the World?

The 7 Wonders of the World hold immense cultural, historical, and symbolic significance. They serve as reminders of human ingenuity, creativity, and the incredible capabilities of ancient civilizations. These wonders also promote tourism, economic growth, and global cultural exchange, inviting people from different walks of life to appreciate and learn from our shared heritage.

Do all the wonders exist in their original form?

No, not all wonders exist in their original form. Many of these structures have undergone restoration and preservation efforts to maintain their historical value. Some may have suffered damage over time due to natural calamities, conflicts, or simply the passage of centuries. Nonetheless, the wonders that have survived, even in altered states, continue to inspire and leave visitors in awe of their magnificence.

Please help us rate this post

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top